Dayton Chronicle - Your Hometown News Source

Races form for Commissioner, sheriff


May 26, 2022

-File Photo

Charles L. Amerein

DAYTON–County voters will have two races to decide following filing week, which concluded last Friday, as County Commissioner Charles L. Amerein will be challenged by Jack Miller and Sheriff Joe Helm will be on the ballot with Jeff Jenkins, a current Columbia County Deputy.

Amerein and Miller, and Helm and Jenkins filed stating their party preference as Republican. They will be on the August 2 Primary Election ballot as well as the November General Election ballot.

Amerein and Helm are both completing their first four-year terms in office. Amerein was elected to fill the District 3 seat vacated with the retirement of Commissioner Merle Jackson in 2018. Helm was elected in 2018, succeeding retiring Sheriff Rocky Miller.

Miller was a candidate in the 2021 race for Port of Columbia Commissioner, losing a close race by 22 votes. Jenkins unsuccessfully opposed Helm in the 2018 General Election.

-File Photo

Jack Miller

Filing for other offices unopposed were Assessor Tammy Groom Ketterman, Auditor Anne D. Higgins, County Clerk Kriston (Krissy) Chapman, Prosecuting Attorney C. Dale Slack, Treasurer Carla J. Rowe and District Court Judge Kimberly (Kim) Boggs.

Due to redistricting measures to be enacted, Columbia County is now in the Ninth District, and will be represented by Mary Dye of Pomeroy and Joe Schmick of Colfax, both of whom have no opposition.

Democrat Precinct Committee Officers who filed included Ray L. Tracy, Jay Ball, Amy Rosenberg, Jen Lingo, Heather Hiebert and Dave Schreck. Republican PCOs who filed were Charles G. Beleny, Eric Thorn, Dwight Robanske, Fred White, Randy Schafer, Lorrie Bensel and Dwight Richter.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 06/24/2022 14:45