Your Hometown News Source

Pomeroy Track teams hold joint awards ceremony

POMEROY-The Junior and Senior high track and field teams held a joint awards night on June 6.

The PHS track team had 13 state medal winners, including Sydney Bales' championship in pole vault and Tyler Slaybaugh's championship in the 100 meter dash. The Pirates had six players in the top eight for boys' pole vault and two for girls' pole vault. The PHS boys' track team placed third in state, the highest placing for the Pirates since 2014.

Receiving varsity letters were Bethany Zimmermann, Sophia Phelps, Atalya Mitchell, Kyzer Herres, Levi Bowen, Sage Kimble, Savannah Lyden, Natalia Larios, Jaycee Ames, David Tejero, Tyler Slaybaugh, Rylan Hays-Carnahan, Cash Copher, Rilee Thompson, Katie Boyer, Trevin Walton, Samuel Lamb, Braedon Fruh, Sydney Bales, Tyler Bagby, Haven Kimble, Carmen Fruh, Robbie Van Vogt, Ashton Tucker, and Braxton McKeirnan. Receiving junior varsity letters were Carlina Morfin, Anthane Boyd, Jonas Blachly, Ismael Arteaga, Emma Thompson, Emilee Warren, and Santiago Lyden.

The team voted on recipients for special awards. Sydney Bales, Braedon Fruh, Katie Boyer, and Rilee Thompson were voted captains. Most Dedicated were awarded to Boyer and Trevin Walton, Most Inspirational were Sydney Bales and Boyer, Performance of the Year went to Tyler Slaybaugh and Boyer, and Boyer and Bales were voted Most Valuable Player.

The Pirate Junior High track team set several new records this season. Kaleb Miller set a record in the 800-meter dash with 2:19, Braxton McKeirnan set a 10 feet 9 inches record in the boys' pole vault and Carmen Fruh a 8 feet 3 inches in the girls' pole vault. McKeirnan and Fruh were also the highest Junior High vaulters in Washington State. Robbie Van Vogt set a 32 feet 10 inches record in the triple jump.

Receiving participation awards were Shantae Cloud, Mellany Lara, Heather Davis, Kennedy Cannon, Owen Wolf, Ben Carroll, Holly Van Vogt, Reagan McKeirnan, Tatum Jones, Heather Hastings, Ariah Bingman, Christian Ramirez, Nolan Newberg, Kaleb Miller, Rory McKeirnan, Oscar Dispenza, Carolina Morfin, Haven Kimble, Carmen Fruh, Robbie Van Vogt, Ashton Tucker, Evan Thomas, Braxton McKeirnan, Matthew Lamb, and Gabriel Gephart.